Posted on

Darn Youngins

Just let me say first.. my personal experience with young teens on World of Warcraft has not been a great one. So I am going to go ahead and touch on the classic subject of – should children even be on WoW? Now to me this is children between the ages of 11 to 17. I have met some very young people on the game especially on a Role Play server. Personally I have no interest in even speaking to anyone under the age of at least sixteen. There are always obvious questions such as their level of maturity and commitment. Below I have give a few examples of what I have personally experienced, both good and bad.

The Mature Young Player: I was in a guild not too long ago with a rather nice Guild Master. He listened when you needed him and tried to be around for the guild members. Although he was not very good at telling people when they needed some help. It took some time for me to discover that this particular GM was only 16. After learning this about him after I had gotten to know him a bit better I was rather impressed. For only 16 he was a relatively good GM and handled things within the guild pretty well. As with everyone there were things that I thought he could have done better. 

The Immature Young Player: I have had so many bad experiences with young, immature players. The one that sticks out in my mind at the moment is an issue that was not really an issue with a young officer of an old guild. I had joined because of a friend in the guild and I was pretty friendly with everyone. I went out of my way to participate in their guild events, Role Play and otherwise. Though this one officer I did not have much communication with on any level. Well she made is especially apparent that she did not like me (for what reason I still don’t know). She would not talk to me and went out of her way to say very rude things about me to everyone in the guild while I was sitting there. So one day I had finally had enough and told her off in language that I will not repeat here and left the guild. I had so many people whisper me like “wtf?!” but I was in no mood to put up with her petty shit anymore.

So whether or not young teens should be aloud to play is up for debate. I honestly do not feel anyone under at least 15 should even consider logging on. Of course, this is just my opinion, This does not go without saying that there are plenty of immature older players as well. Some people even at the age of 50 should not be aloud to play this game. 

UPDATE! The new Pandaren Mage is now level 82 and into Cataclysm content. =3Image

Leave a comment